EU-Japan summit, Brussel - Parlementaire monitor

Parlementaire monitor
Zaterdag 4 april 2020

EU-Japan summit, Brussel

Europagebouw in Brussel
© Kevin Bergenhenegouwen

The EU and Japan's free trade deal makes trade easier and cheaper

Infographic - EU-Japan trade: facts and figures

See full infographic

Agenda highlights

The EU-Japan summit will bring together EU and Japanese leaders to discuss trade, strategic cooperation, and preparations for the G20 summit.

The EU will be represented by Donald Tusk, President of the European Council, and by Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission. Japan will be represented by Prime Minister Shinzo Abe.


EU and Japan leaders are expected to reaffirm their commitment to free trade and the rules-based international order.

Both sides will take stock of the implementation of the EU-Japan free trade agreement and the EU-Japan strategic partnership agreement.

The free trade agreement entered into force on 1 February 2019. It removes most of the duties that EU companies pay annually to export to Japan as well as several regulatory barriers.

A large part of the strategic partnership agreement has also been provisionally applied since 1 February. It seeks to strengthen cooperation across a broad range of bilateral, regional and multilateral issues.

Strategic cooperation

In addition to trade matters, EU and Japan leaders are expected to discuss closer cooperation in several areas, including:

  • connectivity
  • data protection
  • climate change

The summit will also be an occasion to prepare the G20 summit. It will take place in Osaka on 28-29 June 2019.

Regional and foreign policy issues

Leaders are also expected to address developments in the EU's and Japan's respective neighbourhoods. They may discuss:

  • the Korean peninsula
  • the Iran nuclear deal (JCPOA)
  • Crimea and the Azov Sea
  • the East and South China seas




Arrival and welcome of Japan Prime Minister Shinzō Abe


Leaders' meeting


Plenary session


Press conference



See also


Raad van de Europese Unie (Raad)

In deze instelling van de Europese Unie (kortweg 'de Raad van Ministers' of nog korter 'de Raad' genoemd) zijn de regeringen van de 27 lidstaten i van de EU vertegenwoordigd. De Raad oefent samen met het Europees Parlement i de wetgevings- en begrotingstaak uit. Dit houdt in dat de Raad zijn goedkeuring moet geven aan elk wetsvoorstel van de Europese Commissie i en aan elke voorgestelde EU-begroting. Nationale regeringen kunnen dus via de Raad invloed uitoefenen in de EU. De Raad neemt ook beslissingen over het buitenlands- en veiligheidsbeleid.


Europese Raad

De Europese Raad bestaat uit de regeringsleiders of staatshoofden van de 27 lidstaten van de Europese Unie i, de vaste voorzitter i en de voorzitter van de Europese Commissie i. De Hoge Vertegenwoordiger voor het gemeenschappelijk buitenlands en veiligheidsbeleid i woont de bijeenkomsten van dit orgaan ook bij. Alleen de regeringsleiders of staatshoofden hebben stemrecht tijdens de vergaderingen. De Europese Raad heeft geen wetgevingstaak, maar stelt wel de politieke richting van de EU vast.


Meer over...