Establishing EUROSUR - a more systematic cooperation on border surveillance, Brussel - Parlementaire monitor

Parlementaire monitor
Zaterdag 26 september 2020

Establishing EUROSUR - a more systematic cooperation on border surveillance, Brussel

Berlaymontgebouw in Brussel
© Kevin Bergenhenegouwen
datum 7 december 2012
plaats Brussel, België
locatie Berlaymont (BERL) i Toon locatie
aanwezigen A.C. (Cecilia) Malmström i e.a.
organisatie Europese Commissie (EC) i

The Commission will put forward a legislative proposal for setting up a "European border surveillance system" (EUROSUR).

The aim of EUROSUR is to reinforce control of Schengen external borders, especially at the southern maritime and eastern land borders, in order to bring down the number of irregular migrants entering the EU undetected and reduce the loss of lives of migrants at sea and prevent cross-border crime.

It will do so by establishing a mechanism for Member States' authorities responsible for border surveillance (border guards, coast guards, police, customs and navies) to share and exchange operational information and cooperate with each other, with Frontex and with neighbouring third countries.



In 2008, the Commission adopted a Communication examining the creation of a European Border Surveillance System (EUROSUR) and setting out a roadmap for the development, testing and implementation of the system (MEMO/08/86).

The priority given to EUROSUR was confirmed by the European Council in June 2011, which asked for the European Border Surveillance System to be further developed as a matter of priority in order to become operational by 2013 and allow Member States' authorities carrying out border surveillance activities to share operational information and improve cooperation. (IP/11/781).



IP and MEMO will be available on the day.



Homepage of Cecilia Malmström, Commissioner for Home Affairs

Homepage DG Home Affairs:



Michele Cercone +32 2 298 09 63

Tove Ernst +32 2 298 67 64


Europese Commissie (EC)

Deze instelling van de Europese Unie kan worden beschouwd als het 'dagelijks bestuur' van de EU. De leden van de Europese Commissie worden 'Eurocommissarissen i' genoemd. Elke Eurocommissaris is verantwoordelijk voor één of meerdere beleidsgebieden. Momenteel zijn er 27 Eurocommissarissen, voor elke lidstaat één. Samen vormen zij het college van Eurocommissarissen. De Eurocommissarissen moeten het belang van de Europese Unie als geheel behartigen, niet dat van hun eigen land.

De Europese Commissie mag als enige EU-instelling wetsvoorstellen indienen; zij heeft het zogenaamde recht van initatief. Daarnaast controleert de Commissie of de Europese wetgeving juist wordt toegepast in de lidstaten, onderhandelt zij in internationale organisaties als de Wereldhandelsorganisatie (WTO) i over de handel van de Unie met het 'buitenland' en is zij verantwoordelijk voor het beheer van de Europese begroting van ongeveer 140 miljard euro per jaar.


Meer over...