Composition of EP delegations to parliaments in non-EU countries

Source: European Parliament (EP) i, published on Wednesday, July 16 2014, 12:56.

The numbers of MEPs to sit in Parliament’s 44 interparliamentary delegations, which maintain relations and exchange information with parliaments in non-EU countries, were approved in a plenary vote on Wednesday. The delegations’ membership lists were approved on Thursday.

For the new legislative term, Parliament will have 44 interparliamentary delegations, including a new one for relations with Brazil. The lists of these delegations and their respective members are available at the links on the right.

By maintaining and enhancing relations with parliaments in countries outside the EU, delegations help to promote the EU’s core values, namely liberty, democracy, respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, and the rule of law.

Next steps

Delegation chairs and vice-chairs will be elected at the delegations’ constitutive meetings, scheduled for 4 September (multilateral assemblies) and 1-2 October (interparliamentary delegations).

Procedure code: 2014/2704(RSO) and 2014/2705(RSO)

#EP #delegations

REF. : 20140711IPR52233

Updated: ( 17-07-2014 - 12:07)